World Spay Day!

IMG_3961

Today is World Spay Day! Spaying and neutering your pet is something that is close to my heart. I want to talk about one woman in particular, that I am extra fond of, Ms. Cleo. Cleo was a foster that we took into our home after her 9 puppies were weened.. Yes 9 puppies!!!  Cleo was such an amazing mom to these little fur balls, and she is an even sweeter lady. I remember the first day we had her in our home. My first thought was how old she looked.. but then after examining her more, I realized she really wasn’t that old at all! I honestly don’t even want to know how many litters of pups she has had before she was lucky enough to come into rescue…enough to age her by many years. Now Mama Cleo is living her life like a queen, all awhile never having to worry about having another litter of pups again!

The topic of spay and neuter can be a pretty hot topic depending on who you are talking to. Everyone has the right to their opinion, thats what makes this world a great place! But I wanted to list some reason why fixing your dog is the best choice for your pet, and you!

  • Decrease the Risk of Cancer:
    By spaying and neutering your pet you are decreasing their chance of cancer. I don’t know about you, but when I get the chance to further my fur kids life, I’m taking it!
  • Shelters and Streets Are Overflowing:
    This is not new news! There are so many dogs and cats out there that are in need of good homes. By keeping your dogs or cats intact will only increase those numbers! Even if you have no desire to breed your pet, there is the risk of them getting out and impregnating, or getting pregnant. 
  • Behavior!!
    By fixing your pets you are decreasing the chance of having behavioral problems such as, marking (spraying with male cats), aggressiveness towards both people and other animals, the desire to run away, excessive barking, and of course dominance related aggression. None of these things are fun for either you or your pet!

There are many more reasons why you should get your pets fixed!! So if your pet is still intact, consider taking it in to get fixed! There are many discounted spay/neuter services, sometimes even free, out there! Take advantage!

IMG_4190

 

 

Leave a comment